You Are A Vulture album cover

You Are A Vulture

Released in 2006

You Are A Vulture is the first album by Russian Spy Camera and originally released on April 10th, 2006. Most of the instruments on the album are played by Ryan White, although drums are played by Andy Turner. The album was recorded by Jason NeSmith at Bel*Air Studios in Athens, Georgia following a long preproduction process at Ryan's house.

The album preproduction began before Ryan and Andy played their first show, and wasn't originally supposed to be anything more than a one-off album.

You Are A Vulture is part 1 to its followup Mutiny In The Kitchen With Knives, although the recorded performance is much more raw and unrefined. The title references a response Ryan gave to a girl who, while the album was still being recorded, told him he couldn't sing very well.

Get the album!
Mutiny In The Kitchen With Knives album cover

Mutiny In The Kitchen With Knives

Released in 2008

Mutiny In The Kitchen With Knives is the second album by Russian Spy Camera and originally released on March 3rd, 2008. It is part 2 to its predecessor You Are A Vulture as many of the songs were written during the same time as the first album's.

The majority of the album was recorded over a long 10 month period by Ryan in his house in Athens. The drums were recorded by Jay Murphy at Normal Studios where the album was also mixed. As with the first album, Ryan plays most of the instruments but with Andy Turner on drums, McGregor Button on bass/piano, and guest musicians on various other parts.

There was virtually no shows in support for this album as the funds that Ryan had initially saved for the printing of the record were instead used to buy a plane ticket to Istanbul, Turkey, where he would begin a 3.5 month sabbatical through Europe.

Get the album!
M Withdrawals album cover

M Withdrawals

Released in 2012

M Withdrawals is the third album by Russian Spy Camera and originally released in August, 2012. It was recorded by C.K. Koch at Slow Records Studios in Athens, Georgia from January to March 2010.

Most of the album was played by Ryan White with C.K. playing a substantial amount of instruments as well. Drums were played by Donovan Babb on four songs and bass by Alec Wooden on four songs with numerous other guest musicians playing various other parts.

The album serves as a slight departure from the quirky sounds of the first two albums, instead aiming for a more sombre and atmospheric sound. The title refers to the painful process of getting over a breakup with someone. It also focuses a great deal on travel, inspired wholly from the carefree European trip Ryan experienced from Istanbul to Berlin the year before.

Get the album!